Monday, June 5, 2023

When Was The Last Time Borussia Dortmund Won The Bundesliga Title?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

Borussia Dortmund are one of the most successful clubs in German football as they have won 24 major trophies in their history. The German outfit has lifted the league title eight times, the German Cup five times, and the UEFA Champions League trophy once among winning many other major silverware over the years (via transfermarkt).

However, Dortmund are yet to win a major European trophy in this century. However, the German club managed to compete for the Bundesliga title in the 2022-23 campaign.

With Dortmund back competing for major trophies once again, let’s take a look at their first league title win.

The German club won their first league title in the 1955-56 season. It was a start of a dominant period for them as they went on to win the league the following year as well.

Borussia Dortmund
BOCHUM, GERMANY – APRIL 28: Jude Bellingham of Borussia Dortmund heads the ball wide during the Bundesliga match between VfL Bochum 1848 and Borussia Dortmund at Vonovia Ruhrstadion on April 28, 2023 in Bochum, Germany. (Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images)

When Was The Last Time Borussia Dortmund Won The Bundesliga Title?

Borussia Dortmund won their last Bundesliga title back in the 2011-12 campaign. Jurgen Klopp was the manager of the German club at the time. He managed to help Dortmund secure the league title for the eighth time in their history after they finished with 81 points in 34 league matches.

The Bundesliga outfit managed to win the league by eight points and banged in 80 goals and shipped in just 25 goals during the 2011-12 season. They ended with a positive goal difference of 55.

Klopp’s Dortmund team went on an eight-match winning run and a 28-match unbeaten on their road to the Bundesliga title in the 2011-12 campaign. Robert Lewandowski finished as the German club’s top-scorer in the league during that season as he scored 22 times for them.

Edin Terzić is now hoping to end Dortmund’s long wait for the league title. His side managed to push Bayern Munich in the 2022-23 Bundesliga title race.

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Antonio To Lead The Charge | 4-2-3-1 West Ham United Predicted Lineup Vs Fiorentina

West Ham United will clash heads against Fiorentina at Prague's Eden Arena this Wednesday night as the two sides...

More Articles Like This