Friday, June 9, 2023

Teams With The Most La Liga Titles

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

La Liga was founded in 1929 and since its inception, there have been a lot of Spanish clubs that have gone on to get their hands on the famous trophy.

Barcelona won the La Liga title for the first time in 1929. La Liga was suspended from 1936-39 due to the Spanish Civil War.

Let’s take a look at the teams with the most La Liga titles to their name (as of 15 May 2023).

Real Madrid – 35 Titles

Real Madrid have won the league title a record 35 times in their history. They won it for the first time in the 1931-32 campaign and went on to win the title the following year as well (via transfermarkt).

Los Blancos’ most recent triumph in the league came under the stewardship of Carlo Ancelotti in the 2021-22 season.

Barcelona – 27 Titles

Barcelona have lifted the league title 27 times over the years. As mentioned earlier, the Catalan club won their first league title in the 1928-29 season.

Their most recent league success came in the 2022-23 campaign as Barca’s current boss Xavi masterminded another title run.

La Liga title
Real Madrid’s players pose for pictures with the trophy at the end of the Spanish League football match between Real Madrid CF and RCD Espanyol at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid on April 30, 2022. – Real Madrid secured a 35th La Liga title with four games to spare after a 4-0 home win over Espanyol that included two goals from Rodrygo. Needing just one point to clinch the trophy, Madrid struck twice through the Brazilian in the first half at the Santiago Bernabeu before further goals from Marco Asensio and Karim Benzema. (Photo by Gabriel BOUYS / AFP) (Photo by GABRIEL BOUYS/AFP via Getty Images)

Atletico Madrid – 11 Titles

Atletico Madrid have won 11 La Liga titles in their history. The Madrid outfit saw their first success in the league come in the 1939-40 campaign.

Diego Simeone led them to their most recent win in La Liga back in the 2020-21 season.

Athletic Bilbao – 8 Titles

Athletic Bilbao has lifted the league title eight times thus far. They won it for the first time in the 1929-30 season with their most recent win coming back in the 1983-84 campaign.

Valencia – 6 Titles

Valencia have got six league titles to their name. They became the champions of Spain for the first time in the 1941-42 season.

The Spanish outfit saw their last league success come in the 2003-04 campaign.

Real Sociedad – 2 Titles

Real Sociedad have got their hands on the La Liga title twice so far (1980-81, 1981-82).

Deportivo La Coruna, Sevilla and Real Betis have also got one La Liga title to their name.

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Manchester United Make Initial Bid For Chelsea Outcast: Can The Deal Materialize?

According to a report from Football.London, Manchester United are gearing up to make an initial bid for Mason Mount,...

More Articles Like This