Sunday, November 27, 2022

Who Won The Golden Ball In The Last Edition Of FIFA World Cup In 2018?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

The FIFA World Cup will kick off in the Middle East for the first time in its history next month with some of the best players from 32 participating countries looking to give it their all in search of the most prestigious trophy in football.

To celebrate the return of the famous tournament, let’s take a look at who won the 2018 FIFA World Cup’s golden ball award.

Who Gets FIFA’s Golden Ball Award?

The best footballer at each FIFA World Cup finals is awarded the Golden Ball trophy. The shortlist for the famous honour is chosen by FIFA’s technical committee (Technical Study Group) with the winner being determined by various media representatives. The second-best player and the third-best player in each World Cup finals receive the Silver Ball and the Bronze Ball awards respectively.

FIFA started to officially hand out the Golden Ball award in the 1982 FIFA World Cup, which was sponsored by Adidas and France Football.

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup

Who Won The 2018 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball?

Real Madrid’s Luka Modric won the 2018 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball award after being voted as the best player of that tournament. He led Croatia to a second-place finish but ended up losing the final to Germany by a 4-2 scoreline.

All eyes will now be on Qatar to see who earns the Golden Ball award when the World Cup kicks off on November 20 and concludes on December 18 with the final being held at the Lusail Iconic Stadium.

The following list includes all other recipients of the Golden Ball, Silver Ball, and Bronze Ball.

World Cup Golden Ball Silver Ball Bronze Ball
1982 Spain Italy Paolo Rossi Brazil Falcão West Germany Karl-Heinz Rummenigge
1986 Mexico Argentina Diego Maradona West Germany Harald Schumacher Denmark Preben Elkjær
1990 Italy Italy Salvatore Schillaci West Germany Lothar Matthäus Argentina Diego Maradona
1994 United States Brazil Romário Italy Roberto Baggio Bulgaria Hristo Stoichkov
1998 France Brazil Ronaldo Croatia Davor Šuker France Lilian Thuram
2002 South Korea/Japan Germany Oliver Kahn Brazil Ronaldo South Korea Hong Myung-bo
2006 Germany France Zinedine Zidane Italy Fabio Cannavaro Italy Andrea Pirlo
2010 South Africa Uruguay Diego Forlán Netherlands Wesley Sneijder Spain David Villa
2014 Brazil Argentina Lionel Messi Germany Thomas Müller Netherlands Arjen Robben
2018 Russia Croatia Luka Modrić Belgium Eden Hazard France Antoine Griezmann


Luka Modric will again be representing Croatia in the Qatar World Cup in what could be his last World Cup. The Real Madrid star will be hoping to finally touch the coveted Cup this year after narrowly missing the gold medal last time in 2018.

ScoopDragon Football News Network

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Manchester United Identify This Ligue 1 Forward As A Target: What Will He Bring To Old Trafford?

In a recent tweet, Sky Sports journalist Florian Plettenberg mentioned that Manchester United have identified Lille forward Jonathan David...

More Articles Like This