Saturday, December 3, 2022

FIFA World Cup: How Many Players Have Won The World Cup Multiple Times?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will begin soon with 32 of the best nations trying to fight it out for the biggest prize in the world of football when the competition takes place in Qatar from November 20. There will be a lot of star players on show when the competition takes place in the Middle East for the first time in its history. This will also be the first time in football history that the prestigious tournament will be held in the winter months.

Has Any Player won The World Cup Twice?

Yes. So far, 445 players have had the honour of winning the World Cup. Hence, we can expect big-name players such Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane and Neymar Jr. to be hungry to win their first ever World Cup winners’ medal later this winter.

Brazil legend Pele remains the only one to have won the prestigious trophy three times in 1958, 1962 and 1970. 20 other players are currently locked at two World Cups each which include names such as Ronaldo, Cafu, Giuseppe Meazza among many other football greats.

The remaining 424 players have won the tournament once in their respective careers.

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup

How Many Players Have Won The World Cup Multiple Times?

There are 21 football players who have won the World Cup at least twice during their respective careers.

As mentioned earlier, Pele remains in a league of his own after winning the World Cup three times in 1958, 1962, and 1970 versions of the competition. No one has come close to matching his record of winning the most World Cups.

Miroslav Klose has got the highest tally of medals after winning the World Cup with Germany in 2014. He has also won a silver medal (2002) and two bronze medals (2006, 2010), taking his overall tally to four which is the most ever in world football.

Cafu has got two World Cups to his name and is the only player to have appeared in three World Cup finals (1994, 1998 and 2002).

It would now be up to world-class players like Kylian Mbappe and Toni Kroos to follow in the footsteps of some of these football legends by winning the World Cup twice when the tournament kicks off on November 20, 2022. Most of the other big stars like Brazil’s Vinicius Jr., Argentina’s Lionel Messi, and Netherlands’ Virgil Van Dijk will have their eyes firmly fixated on the World Cup final which is about to take place at the Lusail Stadium on December 18, 2022.

ScoopDragon Football News Network

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Liverpool Could Lure Morocco’s In-Form Midfielder: Should Klopp Make An Offer In January?

According to Mirror, Liverpool could reportedly lure Sofyan Amrabat of Fiorentina after impressive showings from the Moroccan midfielder as...

More Articles Like This