Thursday, December 8, 2022

What Is The ‘Golden Boot’ Trophy Awarded At The FIFA World Cup?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

The FIFA World Cup is set to kick off in the Middle East for the first time in the competition’s history with 32 of the best teams in the world battling it out to see who comes out on top and earns the title of the new world champions. The 2022 World Cup will begin on November 20 and conclude on December 18, with the final being held at the Lusail Iconic Stadium in Qatar.

To celebrate the return of the prestigious FIFA competition this year, let’s find out about the golden boot trophy that is awarded at the end of each World Cup final.

What Is FIFA’s Golden Boot Award?

The Golden Boot trophy goes to the highest-scoring footballer of the FIFA World Cup. The first time FIFA decided to give out the award, which was known back then as the Golden Shoe, was in the 1982 World Cup finals. Back in 2010, FIFA decided to rename the award as the Golden Boot.

If more than one player finishes the tournament with the same amount of goals, then the award goes to the player who has scored the fewest amount of penalties in the competition. In the rare case that two or more players cannot be separated by then, FIFA gives the award to the player with more assists.

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup
Top Goalscorer
World Cup Top goalscorer Goals Runners-up Goals Third place Goals
1930 Uruguay Argentina Guillermo Stábile 8 Uruguay Pedro Cea 5 United States Bert Patenaude 4
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia Oldřich Nejedlý 5 Germany Edmund Conen
Italy Angelo Schiavio
4 None
1938 France Brazil Leônidas 7 Hungary György Sárosi
Hungary Gyula Zsengellér
Italy Silvio Piola
1950 Brazil Brazil Ademir 8 Uruguay Óscar Míguez Uruguay Alcides Ghiggia
Brazil Chico
Spain Estanislau Basora
Spain Telmo Zarra
1954 Switzerland Hungary Sándor Kocsis 11 Switzerland Josef Hügi
West Germany Max Morlock
Austria Erich Probst
6 None
1958 Sweden France Just Fontaine 13 Brazil Pelé
West Germany Helmut Rahn
1962 Chile Hungary Flórián Albert
Soviet Union Valentin Ivanov
Brazil Garrincha
Brazil Vavá
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Dražan Jerković
Chile Leonel Sánchez
4 None
1966 England Portugal Eusébio 9 West Germany Helmut Haller 6 Soviet Union Valeriy Porkujan
England Geoff Hurst
Hungary Ferenc Bene
West Germany Franz Beckenbauer
1970 Mexico West Germany Gerd Müller 10 Brazil Jairzinho 7 Peru Teófilo Cubillas 5
1974 West Germany Poland Grzegorz Lato 7 Poland Andrzej Szarmach
Netherlands Johan Neeskens
5 None
1978 Argentina Argentina Mario Kempes 6 Peru Teófilo Cubillas Netherlands Rob Rensenbrink 5
Golden Shoe
World Cup Golden Shoe Goals Silver Shoe Goals Bronze Shoe Goals
1982 Spain Italy Paolo Rossi 6 West Germany Karl-Heinz Rummenigge 5 Brazil Zico 4
1986 Mexico England Gary Lineker 6 Spain Emilio Butragueño
Brazil Careca
Argentina Diego Maradona
5 None
1990 Italy Italy Salvatore Schillaci 6 Czechoslovakia Tomáš Skuhravý 5 Cameroon Roger Milla
England Gary Lineker
1994 United States Russia Oleg Salenko
Bulgaria Hristo Stoichkov
6 None
Sweden Kennet Andersson
Brazil Romário
1998 France Croatia Davor Šuker 6 Argentina Gabriel Batistuta
Italy Christian Vieri
5 None
2002 South Korea/Japan Brazil Ronaldo 8 Germany Miroslav Klose
Brazil Rivaldo
2006 Germany Germany Miroslav Klose 5 Argentina Hernán Crespo 3 Brazil Ronaldo 3
Golden Boot
World Cup Golden Boot Goals Silver Boot Goals Bronze Boot Goals
2010 South Africa Germany Thomas Müller 5 Spain David Villa 5 Netherlands Wesley Sneijder 5
2014 Brazil Colombia James Rodríguez 6 Germany Thomas Müller 5 Brazil Neymar 4
2018 Russia England Harry Kane 6 France Antoine Griezmann 4 Belgium Romelu Lukaku 4


ScoopDragon Football News Network

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Chelsea Are Among Clubs Hoping To Recruit This Gifted Whizkid: One For The Future?

In a recent report, Globo Esporte stated that Chelsea are among clubs hoping to recruit Palmeiras whizkid Endrick. It...

More Articles Like This