Monday, December 5, 2022

How Many Times Has Germany Won The FIFA World Cup?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

Germany will soon kick off their 2022 FIFA World Cup campaign in Qatar as they look to lift the famous trophy once again later this year. However, the competition is expected to be fierce in this edition of the World Cup as 31 other top nations will challenge the Germans for a shot of becoming the next world champions in a few weeks’ time.

With Germany fans all over the world optimistic about their team’s chances of doing well in this tournament, let’s take a look at how many times the European giants have lifted the World Cup.

When Did The German National Team First Win The World Cup?

The Germans won their first World Cup way back in 1954 when West Germany came from behind to beat Hungary by a 3-2 scoreline in the final at the Wankdorf Stadium in Switzerland.

Helmut Rahm ended up scoring the winning goal for West Germany which ensured their first-ever triumph in the prestigious competition.

Germany’s current manager, Hansi Flick will now look to use their first World Cup win as inspiration to lead his men to the final of the 2022 World Cup which will take place at the Lusail Stadium later this year.

Manuel Neuer
Manuel Neuer

How Many Times Has Germany Won The World Cup?

Germany has won the World Cup four times in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014 respectively. Only Brazil has got more World Cup trophies than the Germans in the entire history of the competition.

Their latest win came in the 2014 FIFA World Cup which was held in Brazil. Joachim Lowe managed to lead them to the final where they beat Argentina 1-0 after extra time with Mario Gotze scoring the only goal of that game.

However, it has been eight years since their last win, so Hansi Flick will be eager to bring the World Cup back to Germany come December.

Schedule Of Germany For World Cup 2022

Germany will clash heads with Japan at the Khalifa International Stadium on November 23 before locking horns with Spain four days later. Their final group game will be against Costa Rica at the Al Bayt Stadium on December 1.

With the exception of Spain, the Germans will fancy their chances against the other teams in their group. It would now be up to Flick to guide them through to the final at the Lusail Stadium on December 18.

Match No. Match Date Germany Vs Time (GMT) Venue
1. November 23 Germany v Japan 01:00 pm Khalifa International Stadium
2. November 27 Spain v Germany 07:00 pm Al Bayt Stadium
3. December 1 Costa Rica v Germany 07:00 pm Al Bayt Stadium


ScoopDragon Football News Network

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Europe at FIFA World Cup: The Most Successful European National Teams

The FIFA World Cup is the most awaited event in the world of football. It is a global event...

More Articles Like This