Friday, December 2, 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup Prize Money: How Much Will The Winner Earn?

Must Read
Abhinab Ghosh
A 26-year-old sports writer and an aspiring football coach who has road-tripped across the Scottish Highlands, but has never been to Wales. Sucker for cliff-hangers and catchy riffs. Known to be a grunger and not to be a stranger.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will take place in Qatar soon with 32 of the best football teams fighting it out to see who comes out on top this December and gets awarded the title of the new world champion. Besides lifting the famous trophy, all of the nations participating in this year’s World Cup can expect to be rewarded financially according to where they end up finishing in the tournament.

FIFA has set total prize money of $440m for this upcoming edition of the World Cup. The competition is set to kick off on November 20, when hosts Qatar will clash heads with Ecuador at the Al Bayt Stadium in front of 60,000 spectators and will conclude with the final that is set to be held at the Lusail Iconic Stadium on December 18.

A total of eight stadiums will host this edition of the FIFA World Cup. The names of all the venues in Qatar are as follows:

Lusail Iconic Stadium (will host the final), Stadium 974, Al Thumama Stadium, Al Bayt Stadium (opening match venue), Khalifa International Stadium, Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Education City Stadium, and the Al Janoub Stadium.

In 2018, France beat Croatia 4-2 in the final, which was viewed by 1.12 billion people, to become the reigning world champions. According to FIFA, the last World Cup amassed a total of 3.572 billion viewers. Will history repeat itself in Qatar? Only time will tell.

Let’s find out how much all the participants will earn for their accomplishments in the 2022 FIFA World Cup which will kick off in the Middle East for the first time in history next month.

How Much Will The Winner Earn?

The winning team of the 2022 FIFA World Cup can expect to bag a cool $42m for lifting the famous trophy at the Lusail Iconic Stadium on December 18. However, it won’t be an easy road to the final for the winning country as they will first have to concentrate on making it through their group before winning four matches in a row either in normal time or extra time or even via penalties which will be easier said than done.

Currently, the bookmakers have made Brazil 9/2 favorites to win this upcoming World Cup while France is priced at 33/5 to retain their World Cup crown at the Lusail Iconic Stadium this December.

Argentina is in the best form among all 32 countries as they are unbeaten in their last 35 international matches. The South American nation are listed at 7/1 to win the whole competition later this year.

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup

How Much Will The Runner-Up Earn?

The runner-up of this year’s World Cup will earn $30m for making it to the final, which will happen at the Lusail Iconic Stadium on December 18. Last time around, Croatia surprised a lot of people and made it to the final where they lost against France by a 4-2 scoreline.

However, it won’t be an easy road to the final for them this year. Hence, the other 31 countries would be eager to go on a similar cup run and try to fulfill their dreams in Qatar this December.

What Is The Prize Money For Semi-Finalists And Quarter-Finalists?

The semi-finalists of this year’s World Cup will make at least $25m even if they lose the semi-final and the bronze medal match. The team that finishes in third place will bag a whopping $27m for their efforts in the Middle East.

The quarterfinalists can expect to bag $68m collectively which amounts to $17m per team for finishing in the fifth to eighth places.

The countries that make it through to the Round of 16 will gain a total prize money of $104m collectively which adds up to $13m per side for finishing in the ninth to 16th spots in the World Cup.

The group-stage participants will all be guaranteed to make $144m collectively in this edition of the FIFA competition. Hence, each team taking part in the group-stage matches can expect to bag at least $9m even if they fail to win any of their games.

Additionally, each nation involved in this World Cup can expect to receive $1.5m ahead of the competition which is supposed to cover their preparation costs.

Back in 2018, the reigning world champions France bagged a total of $38m in prize money. However, the 2022 champions can expect to earn even more than that figure this December.

Here is the breakdown of the prize money for the 2022 FIFA World Cup which will get underway in Qatar next month.

World Cup Champions $42m
World Cup Runner-Up $30m
World Cup Semi-finalists (Third/Fourth place) $27m/$25m
World Cup Quarter-finalists (Fifth to Eighth places) $68m collectively ($17m per team)
World Cup Round of 16 (Ninth to 16th places) $104m collectively ($13m per team)
World Cup Group Stages (16th to 32nd places) $144m collectively ($9m per team)
World Cup Preparation Costs for each participating country  $1.5m


ScoopDragon Football News Network

Follow Our Tweets On Twitter

Latest News

Real Madrid Set Their Sights On This Manchester United Star: Should Ancelotti Get Him On Board?

In a recent print edition, Record stated that Real Madrid have set their sights on Manchester United star Bruno...

More Articles Like This